Hit and Run in Wilmington, NC
If you ever find yourself in an accident, the adrenaline is high. Your instincts kick in – of course you want to get yourself out of the dangerous area as much as possible. But if you make a mistake and leave the scene, you can be accused of a crime. Sometimes you don’t even know you are already involved in an accident.
A Wilmington criminal defense attorney can help you with your case.
In North Carolina, being involved in an accident requires you to perform certain actions or you may be charged with a hit and run. North Carolina law requires you to stop after being involved in any incident. You are required to provide the other driver or pedestrian adequate assistance if they are injured. You need to give details such as your name, phone number, and insurance company.
If you don’t, you may be charged with a hit and run. However, the severity of the offense, and therefore punishment, actually depends on the severity of the accident.
Hit and Run Charges
If the accident only results in property damage and/or minimal injury, you are facing Class 1 misdemeanor charges. Misdemeanor hit and run for leaving the scene of an accident with property damage or minor injury carries a potential sentence of up to one year in jail as well as fines.
If the accident results in death or a serious injury, Class H felony charges may be filed. Felony hit and run carries a potential sentence of up to 8 months for a first time offender. This means if you have no criminal history, 8 months is the most time you will be sentenced to. If, however, you have prior convictions on your record, this sentence can be increased substantially.
Hire a Wilmington Defense Lawyer
If you ever find yourself in this situation, it is always best to be aware of the laws of the land. It is always helpful to remember that North Carolina may have laws separate from other states, and it is wise to be familiar with some of these changes. It may be able to help you, your friends, and even your family.
If you or a loved one has been involved in a hit and run accident, call our criminal defense law firm for a consultation. Remember, it’s always best to at least be familiar with the law, or at least have a legal expert to help you understand them.